Review: NCIS: LA 5×01

I need to come up with a schedule so I can make sure my posts get up on time. The last week I’ve been extremely busy but hopefully now I can stick to my daily updates.

Here we go!

*************************CONTAINS SPOILERS*************************

5×01’Ascension’

I just want to start off saying that Eric Christian Olsen, ECO, was amazing in this episode. The emotion he showed in all his scenes made your heart break. Every scene I wanted to reach through the tv and hug him.

The episode started right where the finale left off, Michelle hanging out a window and Sam and Deeks still missing. How Michelle was able to pull herself up by that tarp is beyond me. Once Michelle is safe she heads out to find Sidorov while Kensi and Granger are trying to track down where Sidorov is keeping Sam and Deeks.

The team comes up with a plan. Make it look like Michelle shoots and kills Sam and Deeks. Kensi and Granger are sent to set up. They show up at the warehouse where Sam and Deeks are being held captive. Granger runs to Sam and Kensi runs to Deeks.
*Cue Densi scene we’ve been dying for!*

“Deeks? Hey, hey it’s me.”
“You gotta get me out of here…you gotta cut me loose.”
“There’s not much time and I can’t.”
“What?…What’s happening?”
“You have to stay here just a while longer, okay?”

20130930-141136.jpg

Seeing Deeks so terrified was definitely something new. You could see how much it was breaking Kensi to leave him there. But don’t worry Deeks! She’ll get you back!

20130930-190525.jpg

I watch way too much Grey’s Anatomy, I love a good hospital scene. Poor Deeks freaks out when the oral surgeon is asking him to open his mouth. But can you blame him?! Especially when the doctor is standing right next to a giant needle! What I loved the most was Kensi stepping up, grabbing his hand and telling him it was alright. The he was safe and it was okay to let the doctor look at him. I just wish Granger didn’t have to pull her away from him. Granger, you’re such a party pooper.

20130930-190911.jpg

It annoys me that Sam actually thought that Deeks could just give up Michelle like that. Sam’s opinions of Deeks have always bothered me. When they were being rescued and Sam asked if he gave her up, Deeks wouldn’t be alive to answer if he did. Sam finally apologizes for what he’s put him through over the years. Deeks is a great asset to the team. He’s saved everyone’s life more than once. I’m glad Sam finally realized how wrong he was about him. The hospital scene between ECO and LL was one of the best between the two.

“I think I’m done being a cop.”
“That would be a huge mistake. You’re a great cop and you’re going to make a great agent.”
“I never thought I’d hear that coming from you.”
“Yeah, that was my mistake. I won’t make it again.”

Deeks crying after Sam leaves, extremely hard to watch. Seeing all these emotions makes me love him more.

20130930-192824.jpg

Even after everything he went through Deeks still saves the day! I was not expecting him to appear on the helipad. But I think him being the one to shoot and kill Sidorov was symbolic.

When Deeks and Kensi meet at the end of the day he just looks so lost and confused that all you want to do is hug him and say everything’s going to be okay. But is it? Their talk was just what ECO told us it would be, their most genuine. I’m excited to see how the writers show Deeks getting back to being himself, with Kensi’s help.

20130930-193356.jpg

Densi box spotted! Right where Deeks left it. Will he be opening it this season?

20130930-193409.jpg

20130930-193422.jpg

20130930-193454.jpg

“Kens, I just want you to know that the place I went to in my head to stop the pain was you. I just kept thinking about your smile and your laugh…everything. That’s the only thing that got me through for whatever it’s worth.” *Excuse me while I go get a tissue to wipe my tears*

What does all that mean? It means that Kensi is his happy place, she makes him feel safe. Which means all is not lost for future Densi. Yes, Shane Brennan told us not to expect a happy ending BUT it will happen. It just takes time.

Even though Janvier is locked up he will be one of those people always on the back of Callen’s mind.

*All screen shots are from NCIS Los Angeles Fan. Find lots more on their site!

Don’t miss tonight’s all new episode on CBS at 9 pm!

~ Jenny Q

2 thoughts on “Review: NCIS: LA 5×01

  1. Hi! I love your reviews, they’re amazing! I just have a small question: What do you think Shane Brennan meant when we told us not to expect a happy ending? Still trying to figure that one out…

    Regards,

    Carlota Aleixo

    • Hi! Thank you so much! It means a lot that you took the time to comment! Shane Brennan said not to expect a happy ending, yet. Keyword, yet! I have hope they’ll get there eventually. Just because they kissed doesn’t mean they’re going to jump right into a relationship like most fans hoped. There are things they need to think about before taking that step. Shane mentioned something happening in 5×18, so I’m crossing my fingers that this will be the episode they officially get together 🙂

Leave a Reply

